El abuso nuestro de cada día…

Pensando sobre mis posteos sobre la brutalidad con la que mis vecinos tucumanos tratan a sus mascotas o a los animales abandonados en la vía pública (la más habitual de las maneras de abuso y crueldad animal), recordaba aquél último que hablaba de cómo un joven golpeaba a un perro en la calle porque simplemente se le había cruzado en el camino (ver post). En fin, no suelo recordar mucho, y como en el film Memento, acuso tener “una condición” para olvidarme de lo que pasa de quince minutos para atrás, pues creo que sería el más violento de los humanos y me condenarían por crímenes contra mi “especie”… (… especie, já).

Bueno, la cosa es que causalmente recibí anoche un newsletter donde se consultaba un episodio de abuso y cómo se debía actuar, o en este caso, cómo actuaría el «encantador de perros» César Millán al respecto…

Aquí la transcripción de la correspondencia:

«Cesar’s Q&A Column. Posted May 17, 2009

Hi Cesar,

I have never heard Cesar speak of this, but as a therapist, I ran into this situation quite often. What would Cesar do if he witnessed an owner abusing a dog? I know exactly how I would respond, and how I would respond if I saw anyone abusing a child, but I often wonder… what would Cesar do if he saw this happening? How would he handle it?

– Judy Gifford and the rest of the Cesar Millan Ambassadors

In South Central Los Angeles, where the Dog Psychology Center was founded, there are unfortunately a lot of people, especially from younger generations, who abuse dogs. This is why I believe the best way to stop animal abuse is through education of our youth. If you touch the hearts of children, that message will stay with them for the rest of their lives.

Even when I wasn’t the star of a television show, people in the area knew, “oh, that’s the dog guy.” That was my reputation. I carry myself as a person who cares for animals. So, for whatever reason, I have been able to stop people from continuing the abuse and convince them to give the dogs to me.

My goal is to get them to surrender the dog to me and to realize why they are abusing the dog. “I know you are having a hard time. You’re probably in pain, but I don’t think the dog is at fault.” I never got into a confrontation, because I didn’t want to bring that situation into my family. But I’ve removed a lot of dogs from bad situations in this way.

I wouldn’t recommend this for others; you can end up putting yourself in danger. However, it’s important to speak up! These dogs can’t ask for help, so it’s our job to do so for them. If you witness dog abuse, contact your local humane society, animal shelter, or animal control agency immediately. If these agencies do not exist in your community, contact your police department. You may choose to remain anonymous, though providing your name and contact information will allow the group to follow up with you if necessary.

Stay calm and assertive,
Cesar Millan

For more information, please visit:
The Human Society of the United States
American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals
Best Friends Animal Society»

Responder

